

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting The Australian Stock Horse Society Limited Held on Saturday 27 May 2023 Scone RSL Club, Guernsey Street, Scone NSW

QUORUM PRESENT 1. The AGM opened at 1.10pm.

The Chairman welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting and asked the General Manager Catherine Smith to explain the protocols for member participation and voting.

#### 2. IN ATTENDANCE :

**Directors:** Barry Moore (Chairman), Brett Welsh, Lorna Fanning, Jane Allen, Darren de Jong, David Ricketts, Lance Butcher, Jenny Petrich, Sara Grills

**Members:** Robert Watchirs, Judi Powell, Phil Cox, Alan Hamilton, Anne Barnes, Robin Lawson, Gillian Ryan, Lance Trigg, Jean Gavin, Glenn Frazer, Christine Brooker, Fiona Brooker, Teena Bridge, Terry Hillier, Rachael Schliebs, Bill Keen, Bruce Moxey, Enid Parkinson, Joyce Palmer, Vicki Mascord, Jackie Long, Les Walsh, Lynne Knight, Matthew Best, Louise Best, Joy Poole, Enid Clarke, Tricia Thomas, Jim Gunn, Max Batterham, Bruce Richardson, Craig Young, Marg Hinde, Karen Nicoll, Anna King, Steve Simpson, Paul Vary, Brendan Mills, Joanne Mills

**OTHER ATTENDANCE:** Catherine Smith (General Manager), Belinda McKenzie (Management Support Officer), Alana Stephens from Rose & Partners (ASHS Auditors), Claire Trigg, Kim Frazer, Enid Hillier, Sue Gunn, Margaret Vary, Bronwyn Keen

## 3. APOLOGIES:

#### The Chairman read the apologies as follows:

David Nash, Emma Nash, Peter Brady, Robert Warby, Felicity Smith, Peter Stewart, Janette Brown, Peter Jones, Maurice Mitchell, Max Glasser, Clem Barnett, Ernest Bassingwaigthe, Noel Day, Ray Hadley, Jenny Meyers, James Meyers, Eve Thompson, John Lyons, Gwen Lyons, Margaret Blake, Mary Best, Neville Holz, Lyn Holz, Wayne Smith, Janette Bryan, Gerald O'Brien

#### Apologies from the floor:-

Margi Hind, Reva Flint, Jaci Norris, Jan Wrightly, Brendan Shearer, Cole Moxey, Nicole Moxey, Wyatt Young, Jenelle Young, Michael Wilson, Jan Wilson, Loretta Lawson, Colin Parkinson, Louise Parkinson, Toni Bull, Jane Allen, Lynne Richardson, Heather Gorey, Anne Braidwood

## Moved: Jean Gavin

#### Seconded: Christine Brooker

that the apologies as read be accepted.

CARRIED

# Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Australian Stock Horse Society - 27 May 2023 Page 2

#### 4. <u>PROXIES:</u> The General Manager read the proxies as follows:

Marylou Hodges/David Ricketts, Anne Braidwood/Jackie Long, A & J Lacey/Barry Moore, Jane Allen/Barry Moore, Robert Banning/Barry Moore, David Nash/Barry Moore, Doreen Quartermaine/Barry Moore

Seconded: Anne Barnes

Moved: Rachael Schliebs that the proxies as read be accepted.

# 5. Motion 1: CONFIRMATION OF 2022 AGM MINUTES

Moved: Joy Poole Seconded: Gillian Ryan that the Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held in Toowoomba on Saturday 28 May 2022 be accepted.

#### 6. Matters Arising from the Minutes

Joy Poole - Survey DNA was distributed at the meeting in Toowoomba

## 7. Motion 2:

CHAIRMANS REPORT

**The Chairman (Barry Moore) presented his Annual Report.** There were no questions regarding the Chairman's Annual Report.

Seconded: Judi Powell

Seconded: Craig Young

#### Moved: Barry Moore

that the Chairman's report as read be accepted.

# 8. <u>Motion 3:</u>

TREASURERS REPORT

The Treasurer Lance Butcher presented the Financial Report. Questions from the Floor:-

Craig Young enquired about Membership income recorded in the Financial Report FY22

Response: Under accrual accounting standards, only membership income for FY22 is recorded.

Les Walsh enquired if the Financial Report was true and accurate.

Response. The Report has been prepared in line with industry standards, Auditors Rose & Partners are satisfied with the information and report presented.

# Moved: Lance Butcher

that the Treasurer's report be accepted.

9. <u>Motion 4:</u> <u>APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS</u> Moved: Craig Young Seconded: Lance Trigg that Rose and Partners be appointed as the Society's Auditors for 2023/24.

#### CARRIED

CARRIED

# CARRIED

CARRIED

CARRIED

## 10. DIRECTOR REPORTS

# **Board of Directors Election Results**

Elections were held for NSW - 2 positions – incumbent Tricia Thomas (outgoing Sara Grills) and uncontested David Ricketts An election was held for South Queensland - 1 position – incumbent Judi Powell (outgoing Brett Welsh) An election was held for South East Australia – 1 position - Vacant (outgoing David Nash)

The Chairman congratulated Tricia Thomas & Judi Powell on being elected to the Board.

Director's Reports were read as follows:

Jenny Petrich Lance Butcher Darren de Jong Barry Moore David Ricketts Sara Grills Lorna Fanning Brett Welsh Amy Grubb (for David Nash)

The Chairman thanked the Directors for their reports.

# 11. STATE MANAGEMENT COUNCIL REPORTS

Jenny Petrich – Northern Australia Lorna Fanning – South Queensland Christine Brooker – New South Wales Lance Butcher – Western Australia David Nash – Incorporated in the Director's Report

# 12. <u>ASHLA</u>

Jenny Petrich (for Jackie Long)

# 13. SPECIAL RESOLUTIONS

## Motion 5: - Casual Vacancy

The meeting resolved to confirm the appointment of Mrs. Amy Grubb to fill the casual vacancy as Director until the AGM in 2024, which became available with the resignation of Mr. Brendan Mills.

CARRIED

<u>Motion 6</u>: - Honorary Life Membership The meeting resolved to award Mr. Matthew (Joe) Best Honorary Life Membership.

CARRIED

#### Motion 7: - Honorary Life Membership

The meeting resolved to award Mrs. Louise Best Honorary Life Membership.

CARRIED

Both Matthew (Joe) and Louise Best accepted the Honorary Life Membership and thanked Members for their support.

# 14. A TRIBUTE TO PAST MEMBERS

A PowerPoint Presentation in remembrance of past members was viewed.

### **GENERAL BUSINESS**

**Patron** – Craig Young enquired as to whether any notice had been received in relation to the ASHS Patron. Catherine Smith confirmed that no notice had been received to date.

**Polocrosse Insurance** – Craig Young enquired if ASHS Polocrosse held insurance – Amy Grubb confirmed that the Polocrosse insurance was held. Sara Grills had driven the ASHS Polocrosse initiative and continues to work with Polocrosse for our events.

#### **OUTGOING DIRECTOR**

The Chairman thanked outgoing Director, Brett Welsh (2 terms - 6 years), Mrs. Sara Grills (1 term - 3 years), and Mr. David Nash (1 term - 3 years) for their service to the Society. The traditional "Crack Off" occurred for the 3 outgoing Directors.

Brett Welsh responded.

The Chairman declared the meeting closed at 3.20 pm.